Liberation techniques in Hatha Yoga


Brothers and Sisters,

Establishing and maintaining a disciplined Yoga Practice can have a powerful as well as strengthening effect on the Ones ability to focus, transend , survive and continue do good works during this period of great transformation for all Human Consciousness.

Yoga has quickly become an essential part of the whole that is Citizen Soul Power, empowering increasing our focus and energy. Please enjoy the source below and best wishes in finding a Yoga practice that helps to bring you to a  more disciplined focused state of the love consciousness.

 The goal of Hatha Yoga is to attain the final reunion of Shakti with Shiva. Shakti, the self, is located at the base of the spine as the dormant spiritual energy called kundalini. The ascetic practice demanded for awakening kundalini consists in certain physical exercises accompanied by respiratory techniques. After kundalini awakens, it travels through a spiritual channel (sushumna) of the subtle body, which corresponds physically to the spine, crossing seven important points called chakras. Each chakra corresponds to a Hindu guardian deity and is associated with its mantra and governing cosmogonical element. Once kundalini reaches the last chakra, it returns to its primordial union with the impersonal Ultimate Reality, represented by Shiva. This is one reason for acknowledging the religious character of the Hatha Yoga practice.


 Chakra   Guardian deity   Mantra   Cosmogonic element 
 1. muladhara   Brahma   lam   Earth 
 2. svadhishtana   Vishnu   vam   Water 
 3. manipura   Maharudra   ram   Fire 
 4. anahata   Ishvara   yam   Air 
 5. vishuddha   Sadashiva   ham   Ether 
 6. ajna   Shiva   AUM     
 7. sahasrara             


The awakening and rise of kundalini through the sushumna channel is achieved by following a precise ascetic technique in which the body plays an important role. Given its religious background, Hatha Yoga cannot be a mere physical training. The most important writing of this school, the Hatha Yoga Pradipika, clearly states that Hatha Yoga has to be taught only in order to reach the Raja Yoga level (1,2), which means “the integration of mind in a state where the subject-object duality does not exist” (4,77), or in other words, only in order that the self may merge with the impersonal Ultimate Reality. Therefore, the attention granted to the body has a single purpose: to make it fit for attaining control over the mind and thus liberating the self.

The steps to be followed in order to attain liberation are similar to the Ashtanga Yoga of Patanjali. The Hatha Yoga Pradipika describes them as following:

1. cleansing practices (dhauti), needed for both physical and mental health;
2. body postures (asana) (H.Y.P. 1,17);
3. breath control (pranayama) (H.Y.P. 2);
4. locks (bandha, which temporarily restrict local flows of prana) and hand gestures (mudra), which regulate the flow of prana (H.Y.P. 3). They combine body postures, breath control and concentration;
5. samadhi (H.Y.P. 4), which combines the withdrawal of the senses (pratyahara), concentration (dharana), contemplation (dhyana) and enstasis (samadhi) of the Ashtanga Yoga of Patanjali (H.Y.P. 4,87-97).
The help of a teacher (guru) in assisting the practitioner is absolutely necessary, as the awakening and rising of kundalini is full of potential dangers for the Yogi. This and other aspects of the Yoga practice will be analyzed in the following section.

More on Yoga


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: